Skip to content

Classroom Door Decor

November 22, 2012

Back in the summer when I accepted this job, thus launching a new career, I remember trolling the Internet looking for various teaching ideas. One thing that surprised me was just how much time and effort many teachers put into something that you can’t even see from inside the classroom: the outside of the door.

I remember thinking, “Well, that’s great for all those crafty types, but I can’t imagine putting that much time and effort into my door.”

Boy, was I wrong.

Decorating my classroom door has turned out to be something I truly enjoy, something I plan ahead and look forward to. My students enjoy the tone it sets, fellow teachers appreciate how my door can add interest to a boring hallway, and I appreciate the compliments I get. Let’s face it, I spend hours a day planning for and doing things that only eight kids see–eight kids who won’t think to mention to their parents just how clever I was that day. BUT, when I redesign my classroom door everyone recognizes my creativity and cleverness (even if all I did was adapt a Pinterest idea. Shhh!)

That doesn’t mean I am constantly redesigning, though. I’ve decided if I’m going to put design effort into my door, I want to get my money’s worth. So, while my beginning-of-the-year detective theme (which you can see on this post) only stayed through September, I’m planning my other door designs to last a good two months, with minor changes during that time.

For example, at the beginning of October I created a door design based on a door I found on Pinterest. (Click here to see my Pinterest boards.) It featured a bare tree in front of a large moon with fall leaves, and pumkins at the foot of the tree. We were out of black paper rolls for the evening sky, so I simply made the moon extra large to take up half the door. I cut out a bat to fly over the moon and had my students use charcoal crayons to decorate Jack o’ lanterns for the foot of the tree.

After Halloween, I removed the bat, Jack o’lanterns, and leaves. I had the students decorate new pumpkins for the base of the tree. A parent had donated little foam owls (similar to these) that the kids made. I stuck those on the tree branches. Then I put all the leaves that I’d taken off the door and put them in a container with more leaves that a volunteer had cut out. Each day in November the students could take one leaf, write something they were thankful for, and tape it on the door. Halfway through November, the tree looked like this.

Thanksgiving Door

This is the November version of my fall door. Each leaf lists something a student is thankful for.

Today, before leaving for Thanksgiving, we removed all the leaves. The students took their own leaves home to scatter on their Thanksgiving tables for decoration.

Just wait ’til you see what I have planned for my Christmas door. I expect it to last me through January!

Happy Thanksgiving!

From → Classroom Decor

4 Comments
  1. Rick permalink

    Really enjoy your contributions. Hope you and yours have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday. By the way, your children (aka students) are lucky.

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you, too. Enjoy all the blessings of the day!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. December Classroom Decor « secondcareerteacher
  2. Entering Narnia « secondcareerteacher

Leave a Reply

