Skip to content

Dealing With Death

November 26, 2012

Remember when I wrote about the stresses kids have to deal with? This morning I got a call from a parent alerting me to a new one: death.

One of my student’s uncles drowned. On Thanksgiving.

I was so grateful to the mother for giving me the head’s up. (She called from out-of-state, where she is living.) So, when the child got to school I was able to talk with her before class started. She started to cry and poured out the story to me. The uncle was thirty years old. He had recently moved back here to be closer to family. My student was looking forward to seeing him over the holiday weekend.

It’s always sad when someone we love dies. It’s even sadder when their life is cut short by an accident, something that shouldn’t have happened.

I am so thankful that I work at a Christian school. I can’t imagine what I would say to comfort my student if I couldn’t mention God, if I couldn’t acknowledge the truth of her comment when she told me her uncle is now up in Heaven with his grandmother. I am thankful that as a class we could pray for this student and her family.

I can’t even imagine what I would say if I didn’t believe in a loving, forgiving God. I guess at that point you just focus on appreciating the life that was lived. But that feels kind of empty when the life was cut short. And that puts all the good in the past and takes out a key element: hope.

Not that I have all the answers. Not by a long shot. But, I have faith. I have faith that God loves me, that He loves all of us. I have faith that, while I don’t believe God causes bad things to happen, He can make good things come out of bad. And I recognize that my brain can’t possibly fully comprehend God. While that frustrates me at times, I can accept it.

Mostly, I know from firsthand experience that God can comfort where no one else can. So when my words of comfort aren’t enough for this young girl, I don’t have to worry. God’s got her heart in His hands.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

