Skip to content

December Classroom Decor

December 7, 2012

In case you thought I was all out of Christmas cheer after my last post, I thought I’d show off my December decor to assure you that Scrooge hasn’t taken over my classroom.

Per my post about door decor, I set the mood for Christmas cheer before you even enter my room with a door decorated like a giant present. Christmas Present DoorOkay, I realize that silver and blue are more traditionally associated with Hanukkah, but that shiny, striped wrapping paper was too pretty not to use. Since the picture was taken, each student has decorated a gift tag to hang from the giant bow. And, you know how I like to make my doors last. In January I will take off the striped ribbon, keep the blue paper, and have the kids decorate snowflakes to fall in the night sky. If I’m really inspired I may even add a few snowy hills to the bottom half.

Now, for the inside. On my Pinterest page I pinned a picture of a wonderful indoor Christmas tree made of books that someone else had built. I tried to create a smaller version of the tree on top of my cabinet, but to no avail. A shorter version simply looked, well, silly. Then I had the idea of standing the books up to make my tree and, viola! An indoor Christmas tree made of children’s classics.  Literary Christmas TreeThe Book of Common Prayer with the gold cross for a tree topper was a lucky find at the local thrift store. The most rewarding part was when my students first saw the tree. They oohed and ahhed over all the book titles they recognized. I can probably improve on this next year, but I think it was a good first attempt.

I also have colorful Chinese lantern lights strewn over my whiteboard, as well as a Christmas quilt on the ceiling. Yes, the ceiling. It was the only place I had room. And it provided the perfect spot for the Gingerbread Man to hide when he ran away from the first and second grade class. Hidden Gingerbread ManSo, never fear. Christmas is alive and well in my classroom.

 

From → Classroom Decor

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

