Skip to content

Back in the Saddle

September 3, 2013

So, I pretty much disappeared at the end of last January.

Actually January was surprisingly productive. As you may remember, we read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe which culminated in a student-written play performed for the entire school. And the rest of the school year’s teaching was a success. But I added a play (this one starring me) to my plate which made it pretty darn full.

And then I found a publisher for my book.

You see, I’d written a romance novel before I started teaching, and after failing to find an agent or publisher, I’d retired it to the proverbial drawer. During mid-winter break an author friend suggested I send the manuscript to her publisher. Thinking I had nothing to lose, I sent it. By Spring Break I had a publishing contract. So I had to add the editing process to my full-time job and the play I was in. (“Into the Woods”, BTW. I was the Witch.)

Needless to say, this blog was low on the totem pole.

My novel, Two-Room Flat, was published this summer. A dream come true. Feel free to click the title if you’d like to read more about it. It’s also available on Amazon, iTunes, B&N, etc. Or, if you prefer to watch funny, unconventional book trailers you can watch mine on YouTube.

But now it’s back to teaching. My first post was the day before I started teaching. Now I’m beginning my second year, and I’m almost as nervous and insecure as last year. Maybe that’s always the case. But I notice my notes are a bit more detailed than last year. These first weeks are about training the students, and I intend to do a more thorough job from the get go this year than last.

And, yes, I still enjoy decorating my doors. Check out the one greeting my students tomorrow.

Image

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

