Skip to content

Family Whole30 Check In Day 2

February 20, 2015

The second day of our Family Whole30 is at an end and we’re holding strong. My husband is in the kitchen making almond butter as I write this because giving up his lifelong staple, peanut butter, has been the thing he’s resisted most. But I’m pretty sure, being the creative chef he is, that he’ll view this whole transition as a challenge.

In the meantime, I’ve been doing all the cooking (which is not the usual way of things.) After all, I foisted this change on everyone. Plus, I’m on winter break so I have the time. So I’m feeling a lot like a one-woman restaurant, making and serving three meals a day. But I figure it will pay off next week when we’re all back at school and making our own breakfasts and lunches. In fact, I even served lunch to the kids today in the containers they pack for school so they could see how it could work.

Roast Beef Roll-ups with veggies and oranges

Roast Beef Roll-ups with veggies and oranges

They were watching a movie so they didn’t give a lot of feedback other than “thanks,” but everything got eaten. Well, except for some of the pepper strips.

I’ve already noticed a progression in my kids’ open-mindedness, especially my 13 year-old who was the most resistant to this plan. We went to the grocery store yesterday, which probably wasn’t the smartest thing to do when you’ve just done a diet overhaul. To start, guess what was being offered as we walked in the door? Samples! And they were even what we, in the past, would have considered healthy: fruit, chicken, and broccoli salad. We could only have the fruit since the chicken was glazed with a sugary bottled sauce and the broccoli salad was bathed in dressing. You’d have thought we had to turn down free doughnuts.

Then, as we passed an end cap, my youngest noticed a giant box of Goldfish crackers. She picked it up. “This is on sale. Can we get it for when we’re done with the Whole30?” While I appreciated her astute financial sense, I said no. Next, she asked about oatmeal. Oatmeal! She doesn’t even really like oatmeal! Still, I saw it as improvement that she even asked. That was a first. Sadly, another “no.” However, by the end of the trip she was requesting pumpkin seeds and oranges. Yes and yes. That’s definitely an improvement.

Remember the outline I wrote to present my case to do the Family Whole30? That inner nerd that shone through? She came through again today via my refrigerator. I moved all non Whole30-approved food to our refrigerator and freezer in the garage. Then, I organized what was left. Mostly produce. I don’t know about anyone else, but our family wastes so much produce because we forget about it. It gets lost in the bowels of the fridge and isn’t found until it’s limp, brown, and dripping. We’re spending far too much effort and, let’s face it, money to let that happen to all the produce we’re now buying. So, I did this:

An OCD person's dream refrigerator

An OCD person’s dream refrigerator

Not only does this make it easy to find ingredients we need, and to know when we’re out of something, but it makes it easy for the kids to put away groceries in the proper place. With five people in the house, we all need to pitch in.

I didn’t think to take a ‘before’ picture of my refrigerator, but I did take one of my freezer, which was equally bad. Here’s what it looked like before I carted much of the food to the garage.

This was my pre-Whole30 freezer

This was my pre-Whole30 freezer

Notice all the bread. The Butter Braid near the ice maker. And that box on the bottom…Mrs. Field’s frozen pretzels. This thing looks pretty empty now that that’s all gone. But none of it is there tempting us. I suspect I’ll be glad of that in another few days.

Last, I have to share the amazing recipe I made for dinner tonight. It was a hit with everyone. Paleo Pad Thai from The Clothes Make The Girl’s blog. This will definitely be a new staple for us.

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. My stepdaughter did this a few years back and my girlfriend just finished. What beautiful food you’re making. Congrats on your 2nd day finish line. 🙂

    • Thank you! So far, so good. Only 28 more days to go! (Except I’m doing this for Lent so it’s more like 43 more days.)

      • Oh that’s a great Lenten activity. I’m eating better but not doing Whole30. I’m drinking green mix powders and eating whole foods but not cutting out grains or dairy. I don’t eat all that much of either anyway. What I am doing for Lent is staying in the Bible and doing my daily meditative/contemplative prayers. Some time in the autumn all of my daily devotionals slipped by the wayside and was sorely missed. It was a super busy time for me. Anyway, I’m back at it and happy. 🙂 Blessings to you!

  2. Glad you liked the Pad Thai recipe. Keep on rocking your Whole30!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Day 9 Check-In | secondcareerteacher

Leave a Reply

